Tags

, , ,

IMG_0481

I love beauty products, take me to Sephora and I am like a kid in a candy store.  However……  I now live in central Mexico and life is different.

I am a fair, sensitive-skinned redhead.  I also have drier/middle age skin.  So what’s a girl to do?  Use local – Mexican made products and keep it simple!!!  The other day when I was at the grocery store (instead of my local market), I saw a few products.

– Coconut butter (in the glass dish).  Excellent for cleaning off make-up, moisturizer, hair conditioner, antibacterial and you need a very small amount, it also smells and tastes great.  I also use it for cooking and in smoothies.

– Aloe vera (I brought this from Canada but I do have 2 plants and you can buy it everywhere).  Aloe vera is soothing, moisturizer, helps heal cuts,  great for so many things.  I also have aloe vera juice that I drink every morning :).

–  Almond oil, oh my this smells absolutely delicious and a small bottle is cheap.

–  Rosewater spray, again smells wonderful.  Rosewater is very soothing to irritated skin.

These products are great and so much cheaper that department store products.  Give these a try and I would love to hear from you on other products.

IMG_0487

Instead of tequila I put a mixture of avocado oil, olive oil and almond oil.  Ohhhhhh, so nice for the skin after a shower or add it to your bath water.

IMG_0489Wonderful body scrub.  Leftover coffee grounds – ground oatmeal flakes (uncooked) – coconut butter – olive oil and even a few ground almonds.  Mix it up, store in fridge up to 3 weeks and enjoy!