Tags

, , ,

DSC_2891

This past Friday my adventure was travelling to San Miguel de Allende with two wonderful women.  San Miguel is only an hour away from San Juan Del Rio, where most of the expats live.  This was my fourth visit to SMDA but I had never been given the opportunity to meet one of its famous artist’s.

Mario Mizrahi is a very well-known and exceptional artist who paints with a sense of passion and humour.  He is  also a good, long time friend of Grace, who was one of my adventure companions.  I believe Grace and Mario had been friends from back in the 80’s when they were both living (and partying) on Cozumel Island.  Mario invited us to his home to view his latest work and enjoy a glass of wine.  The following two days would be busy for him as the San Miguel “Art Walk” was happening.  Mario was the ultimate host, showing us around his home and sharing many stories.  Janice and I fell in love with his home,  especially the views from the upper deck.

DSC_2887

Love the colours!!!!

DSC_2890

DSC_2897

DSC_2905

DSC_2910

DSC_2929

On the upper deck/patio……….

DSC_2944

DSC_2948

DSC_2952

I loved the colour of the wall.

DSC_3001

Long time friends!!!!!

Mario also took us the “Cotton Mill” which has been transformed into an art market.  it was interesting to see such a variety of art, sculpture, photography and jewellery.  Afterwards we ventured into the historic centre for a delicious margarita.

We all had a wonderful day and I cannot wait to hang my new painting!!!!!!  Thank you Mario,  thank you Marcos for driving us and thank you Jan & Grace for being the wonderful women that you are.

Image

Jan, Grace, Mario and Marcos.