Tags

, ,

I love tamales!!  The first time I tried them was many years ago in San Diego and from then on I had found my “comfort food.”  I have never tried to make them because living in Calgary, good corn husks are a rare find and secondly I was told they are time consuming.  Whenever Ken and I would travel to Texas, California or Mexico I was always on the look-out for tamales.  Not a lot of restaurants make them, why I would ask?  Not a lot of people (Canadian) ask for them, was the answer.  Once in awhile we would be lucky to find them and a small Mexican food store in Calgary actually carried frozen ones.  I will keep this blog post short as I had previously wrote a lot  but did NOT save the draft.

Soco (my wonderful housekeeper/cook) and I made tamales today, chicken with salsa verde and red tomato sauce with jalapeno y queso.  They do take a little time to make, cooking the sauces, chicken, soaking the corn husks, mixing the masa, stuffing them then finally steaming them for 1 hour.

DSC_2862This was a lot of fun and well worth it.  They turned out very well and yes I know “corn, corn, corn” will go straight to my backside.  Everything in moderation!

DSC_2871

I did not keep all of them, one should share the bounty 🙂