Tags

, , , , ,

Image

December 1st, one month since my last post, time to get back at it.  We are sitting in the lounge at the Houston Airport, waiting to fly to Calgary.  Almost three months away from my home country, I miss my family and friends.  However, I do not miss the winter chill and shovelling snow.

The time has passed very quickly, so many new adventures.  Number one is and shall be “learning spanish”, 3 lessons a week, is not enough!  I need to practice, converse, immerse, read and practice some more.

We have celebrated Independence Day, Sept. 16th.  We were very lucky to be invited to view the festivities with friends, sitting on a rooftop restaurant.

The office where my husband works planned a Birthday Surprise, including tacos, mariachi’s and a gift of a bottle of tequila.

Day of the Dead, Nov. 1-2, celebration of one’s life and afterlife.  I have never seen so many flowers and bright colours!!!!!!  The Mexican’s love to celebrate……..

Travelling around visiting nearby towns, San Miguel de Allende;  Guanajuato; Leon;  Queretaro;  Mexico City and Michocan where the Monarch butterflies travel to.

We have also received our belongings from Canada, 120 boxes plus furniture.  One week of unpacking then listing “the missing items”!!!!!!

We have hosted 2 Expat Functions – getting to know one another and safety/security.  Now I am beginning to figure out and define my “role” being involved with the expat spouses.  We will try to meet 2-3 times a month and discuss concerns then solutions.   Things like no hot water, or no washer and dryer, loss of independence, where to grocery shop, can I have a car, how to open a bank account or even obtain a cell phone.   Believe me, if the wives are happy, life is much much easier!!!!!!!  The next few years are going to prove very interesting.

Here are a few photo’s from the past 3 months.  The above is a Monarch Butterfly.

Three Katrina's

Three Katrina’s

IMG_0165From an alter.

DSC_4321San Miguel de Allende

Guanajuato women

Guanajuato women

Guanajuato

Guanajuato

Blue Artist

Blue Artist

Museo de Anthropologica

Museo de Anthropologica

W Hotel Mexico City

W Hotel Mexico City

school band - Tequisquiapan

school band – Tequisquiapan